Chicken with Vegetables and Potatoes


The goal was to fix something substantial for dinner today. With the intense heat the past week we’ve been living on sandwiches. So I decided I’d make kind of a chicken pie/casserole thing no matter how frigging hot it is today.

Not being in the mood to fix dumplings I thought I’d mound mashed potatoes on top of cutup chicken and vegetables in a simple sauce then finish it off in the oven. Yeah, right, best laid plans and all that bologna. All I can say is the finished dish didn’t look great but that didn’t stop my better half from eating two full pasta bowls of it.

Why the heck I decided to take a photo to document this mess I don’t know. It sounded like a good idea at the time and I really need the practice.

Ingredients

  • 2 skinless chicken breasts
  • 1 ½ cups of mixed frozen vegetables
  • 1 tablespoon good dry chicken bouillon
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • 2 cups of water
  • ¼ cup of flour
  • ½ or more cup of cold water
  • 1 4 serving pouch of roasted garlic instant mashed potatoes
  • 1 tablespoon of butter
  • 1/3 cup of milk
  • 1 cup of hot tap water
  • 1 large egg

Directions

Things began going wrong from the first. The chicken breasts didn’t thaw and I was running out of time. I dumped them into a large pan, poured in 2 cups of water, slammed the lid on the pot and turned the burner on high. When they had finally reached a point of thawed that would allow me to chop them up I pulled them out and cut the breasts into cubes. While doing this the 3 month old demon cat was trying to climb up me and onto the counter so he could supervise. Cats really don’t believe humans can do anything without their help.

After peeling the cat off, I returned the chicken to the pan and added 1 tablespoon of bouillon and about ½ teaspoon each of salt and pepper. I adjusted the heat to medium.  Fed the demon kitty his gushy food so he’d quit trying to jump up on the counter.

I simmered the chicken for another 30 minutes. I added 1 ½ cups of mixed frozen vegetables and another ½ cup of water to the pan. Stirred and covered it, simmered about 30 more minutes.

I mixed ¼ cup of flour with ½ cup or more of cold water and whisked it until smooth. I stirred the slurry into the pot of chicken and vegetables, stirring and cooking it until the sauce was almost thick enough.

I put the instant potatoes in a bowl and added a tablespoon of butter, 1 cup of hot tap water and 1/3 cup of milk. After mixing it together I let it site a few minutes so the water and milk would absorb into the dry potato flakes. I had to mash in the butter because it hadn’t melted. Then I beat in an egg.

I heated the oven to 375 degrees. I placed spoonfuls of the potato mixture on top of the simmering chicken and vegetable mixture. I put the pan, uncovered, in the oven for about 20 minutes. That was all the time I had to finish it.

Notes

Leftover cooked chicken can be used.

Any instant potatoes would work if you use the amount of flakes or buds for 4 servings.

Fresh vegetables could be used if you have enough time.

A little sage or poultry seasoning might improve it.

About dwittopinions

A great grandmother living in the middle of the United States. My interests include art, needlework, reading, history, politics, and cooking.
This entry was posted in Chicken, Dinner, Food, Main Dishes, Recipes, Vegetables and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Chicken with Vegetables and Potatoes

  1. Micha says:

    Haha…I had to laugh at how cranky you sound from the heat. I feel the same way and everyone is getting on my nerves because of it! I commend you on whipping up a meal like that in this weather! It sounds delicious…

  2. Some thing tells me your cat was getting into the action because things smelt so seriously good. My parents little Jack Russell tried to jump onto the kitchen bench and a pan of bacon once, tried to no avail though!

  3. That would explain it. He is beyond curious and loves chicken. He did get a bit of his human’s dinner tonight. I really can’t cook without a cat underfoot 🙂

  4. That sounds scrumptious, I am always lookinf for hardy meals that don’t heat up the kitchen to much during the dog days of summer. I will have to give it a try. Thanks

    • If you use precooked meat it won’t take long to cook. Other meals for hot days are tuna and vegetables salad or hot dogs with potato salad. Thank you for visiting!

  5. sybaritica says:

    I have read in blog after blog how hot it is down south right now….It’s a nice cool 11 degrees here in Iqaluit today so I can cook without needing to kill something during the process. BTW… I thought your creation ended up looking just fine!

  6. Heat records have been broken in Kansas during the past couple weeks. Some had stood since the 1930s. Thank you for leaving a comment 🙂

  7. kristen98 says:

    You made me smile. Thank you. 🙂

Please Leave a Reply

